Fresh User Reviews for Wheelchair Access in Sydney


Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next

 

Displaying: 1 - 20 of 776  




alexb reviewed East Chinese Restaurant, East Circular Quay

Restaurants, Chinese, Family Dining, Fine Dining, Child Friendly

Overall 6.9  55


6.5 Recommended

Food  5      Ambience  9      Service  7      Value  5     


This place has the location and staff to make it the top Chinese restaurant in town but fails to deliver with the food which is pretty average. The menu reads well, but everything we had was pretty conventional in terms of flavour. The dumplings are fine, the pastry was right but the bbq duck and vege fillings were bland. The Palace duck dumplings are heaps better!

The kangaroo in XO sauce was fairly boring too, no kick from the chilli and the gamey flavour of roo almost non existent, perhaps due to the over marination and tenderisation process. Too much corn starch making a goopy sauce. While it didnt taste like beef, there was no wow factor to showcase Aussie produce which this place could easily make their own given they also have croc etc on the menu.

Dec 19, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




2ndserve reviewed Gatehouse Tea Rooms, Parramatta

Tea Rooms, Comfort Food, English, Good for Brunch, Good For Groups

Overall 7.5  5


9.8 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Drinks  10      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  9     


I've been here a few times now and I love it! Sitting on the verandah today, overlooking the garden and sipping champagne was just lovely. We had the sparkling high tea and I thought it was good value compared to the many other high teas I've had around Sydney ($44 for the sparkling high tea or $39 without sparkling) The scones were the best I've tasted and the sweet pastries were homemade and wonderfully delicate. Warm, friendly service, China tea cups and my favourite Irish breakfast tea... I was in heaven. This is now my favourite place to go for high tea.

Dec 18, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Modern Australian, Steak House, Family Dining, Fine Dining

Overall 7.2  123


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

8 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  8      Service  8      Value  8     


This was our second visit to Kingsley’s Australian Steakhouse at King Street and once again, steaks were perfectly cooked, very tender and full of flavour. This time we ordered the Riverina Grass Fed 160g petite fillet and the 220g Eye Fillet, served with a garden salad and pepper and mushroom sauces. Website food menu and wine by the glass items do not reflect printed menus presented at the venue. Having online menus that are not updated are worthless. If new menus can be printed, website food and wine menus can be updated accordingly. This is annoying when evaluating possible choices online prior to a visit, only to be disappointed when presented with a different printed menu. Hopefully management can rectify this situation. It’s just not professional to accept this.

Feb 14, 2014
We dined for lunch on a 50% off food deal for a first time visit to this venue. Our main choices were a 220g grass fed eye fillet with garden salad and 400g NY cut striploin with chips. We also ordered a side dish of sweet potato salad with bacon and crème fraiche which was pleasant. Dishes were beautifully presented and delightful on the palate. The steaks were very tender, flavoursome and cooked to perfection. We also received a complimentary bowl of varied chocolate coated coffee beans at the completion of our meal.

Service was very friendly, however wine and water glass attention for top-ups for our table was lacking. With a discount deal, this establishment was very good value for money. Extensive drinks menu provides for a very good selection. Ambience was pleasant with sandstone walls, although a little noisy as they were quite busy for a mid-week lunch booking, which is also a good sign of popularity. An enjoyable and relaxing occasion and would consider returning another time.

Dec 18, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Martin M. reviewed Chophouse, Sydney CBD

Restaurants, Modern Australian, Seafood, Steak House, Good For Groups

Overall 7.8  114


10 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  10     


A funky venue, great staff and excellent food has made this one of my favourite restaurants.

Dec 18, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Martin M. reviewed Greenwood Hotel, North Sydney

Pubs, Bistro/Brasserie, Has Bar, Outdoor Dining, Private Room

Overall 6.4  63


2.8 Not Recommended

Food  1      Drinks  7      Ambience  3      Service  1      Value  2     


I can't think of anything redeeming... I was at this pub last night, and the food was abysmal. Beef sliders were more like gristle sliders. The mens toilets are unspeakably disgraceful, in part due to patrons, but mainly due to lack of maintenance. I'll spare you, the reader, the details, but suggest you go to one of the other pleasant pubs in North Sydney if in the area if you want an enjoyable experience.

Dec 18, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Takeaways, Indian, Family Dining, Good For Groups

Overall 6.6  150


2.3 Not Recommended

Food  5      Ambience  1      Service  1      Value  2     


Average food and slow service... I wouldn't bother.

Also, voucher users beware! It says Bookings not required... just call and book to avoid the hassle of listening to their excuses!

I visited for weekday lunch in October 2014 using a voucher. The food was ok (only thing decent was the naan and the butter chicken), the service was slow and there were problems redeeming the voucher.

Returned here again using a different voucher, however, this was not honoured due to some conditions ie last orders by 1.30 for voucher patrons only, fyi we arrived (with orders already in our head) at 1.27pm and they refused.

This was not stated at all on the voucher. I would not have minded so much, gone elsewhere and would come back another time. I mean I understand, I've worked in the hospitality industry. However, when giving constructive criticism the staff member did not listen and spoke over me the entire time.

If a business is going to offer vouchers to bring in customers, they better get their act together.

Dec 18, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Italian, Family Dining, Good for Business Dining, Good For Groups

Overall 6.6  78


7.5 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  5      Service  9      Value  8     


Unfortunately, our evening here was spoiled by the noise. We were celebrating a friend’s birthday on a busy Fri night. There were nine in our party and we were placed in the rather claustrophobic and drab back room, which is like the function room, along with one other party of 20 diners, (which included about half a dozen young kids), also celebrating a birthday. Now while this neighbouring party were generally well behaved and polite, it’s pretty much impossible to have a party of that size with so many young children and not make a deafening racket in a cramped space, with no windows and no carpets or other noise absorbers. So once our neighbours arrived, that put an end to all relaxed conversation. We simply couldn’t hear ourselves think.

And that was a pity since this is a fine restaurant that works well on all other levels. It’s managed with passion, care and attention to detail. The food is fresh and tasty, beautifully prepared with love and presented to the table in stylish white crockery. The service from Tony and his wife was attentive, efficient, friendly and polite. You just couldn’t have asked for better. Our table was attractively laid with crisp white napery and stainless steel cutlery. And despite my trepidation, we found easy parking about 500 metres from the restaurant further down Marion Street, where restrictions end at 6.00pm.

Now if I had been Tony I would have warned our party that another much larger party was going to share the back room with us and ask us to either choose another night or, better still, put us in the front room, which faces onto the street and seemed much more quiet, airy and comfortable. But back in the function room, carpets and noise absorbers are urgently needed.

Dec 17, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Asian, Vegetarian, Has Bar, Licensed

Overall 8  36


9.5 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  9      Service  10      Value  9     


We went to China Beach tonight (16th Dec 2014) and experienced fantastic service and an absolutely fabulous selection of food. We ordered: (1) Duck pancakes with cucumber, shallots and Hoi sin sauce (2) Red braised lamb shoulder (3) Chinese 5 spice crispy prawns (4) Wok tossed beef tenderloin (5) Crispy skin free range chicken with peanut sauce (6) Twice cooked free range duck (7) Cantonese style egg fried rice (8) Steamed baby Bok Choy.

Every single dish served up was absolutely beautiful. Everyone in our party of eight was agreeable that it was some of the best Asian food they have ever eaten. The meal including drinks cost us just over $320.00 so it worked out at $40/head. Very good value for food cooked to this standard. The staff were terrific. They knew their menus and we're happy to offer their advice. The food was cooked and served up in good time. The toilets were clean. All in all, I highly commend this restaurant. Note: our party is not related in any way to the owners or staff of this place. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who appreciates fine Asian meals. Just sit back and enjoy!

Dec 16, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |

The Breakfast Club The Breakfast Club
'Festive Feeling'
26



jackflash reviewed Pony Dining The Rocks, The Rocks

Restaurants, Mediterranean, Modern Australian, Fine Dining, Good For Groups

Overall 7.4  209


8 Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  7      Service  9      Value  7     


A small group of us dined at Pony on Saturday night. The venue is on the small side and being so close to Christmas the only booking available was for the 6.30pm session, this wasn't a problem. The food was excellent and the portion sizes very generous. The Brisket was delicious $36 Pork belly and clams $36, the spicy Veal cutlet was tender but could have offered more spice. Our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable looking after us from the moment we were seated. Despite having the earlier booking we were never hurried or asked to finish up as we ended up staying quite late.

Dec 16, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




SamEthan reviewed Curry Bizarre, Blacktown

Takeaways, Indian, Family Dining, Good For Groups, Child Friendly

Overall 6.4  8


5.8 Average

Food  8      Ambience  3      Service  7      Value  5     


It's a great place to eat nice food it would be nice if they had their own restaurant instead of in the food court.

Mobile Review Dec 16, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




splash_dad reviewed Trevi Lakeside, Baulkham Hills

Restaurants, Italian, Fine Dining, Good For Groups, Romantic and Intimate

Overall 8  71


7.5 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  8      Service  8      Value  6     


We had our office Christmas lunch at Trevi with 13 people. We chose our meals from their lunch time menu with most people choosing 2 course so overall we had a good cross section of the menu.

The location is nice with a view of the lake if you wish. The staff was efficient and professional. The meals included the braised lamb, barramundi, sirloin steak, salt and pepper calamari, stuffed mushrooms, pork salad, chicken curry, various desserts.

Overall we found the food very good with nice presentation and reasonable portion sizes. The quality of the food was very good. All meats were cooked to the correct level. For $35 for two courses including a drink the prices are a bit high for a normal working lunch.

Many of our party commented that they would come back to Trevi. Certainly our experience is quite different to recent reviews.

Dec 16, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Food EE reviewed Royal Oak Hotel, Balmain

Pubs, Modern Australian, Bistro/Brasserie, Citibank Dining Program, Has Bar

Overall 7.1  46


8.6 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Drinks  10      Ambience  8      Service  6      Value  9     


We've been coming here for years and have found the food mostly good, yesterday was one of the absolute best meals we've ever had. The white bean puree to die for, the panko crusted sardines amazing, and the chilli squid melt in the mouth, hence why the 10 out of 10 for food and drinks (can't go wrong with bubbles). However what lets this place down is the service. Sometimes its good, and sometimes not. Yesterday was not so good. The "older" guy who seated us was quite surly, then we sat for a good 20 - 30 mins with empty dirty plates on our table, despite only 3 other tables there and the staff faffing around moving tables, setting tables, clearing empty tables and never once coming to clear ours or see if we needed anything else. Shame as the food is sooo good.

Dec 15, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




supermunchies reviewed Blu Ginger, Castle Hill

Restaurants, Indian, BYO, Citibank Dining Program, Food Delivery

Overall 7.8  37


8.8 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  8      Service  7      Value  10     


I love the food here, it's full of flavor and the vindaloo is always piping hot, just how I like it. I always leave full and satisfied. Sometime the service can be a little slow but I for one don't enjoy having someone interrupting not only my meal but also my time with the person I'm eating with. This is my favourite restaurant, the food speaks for itself.

Mobile Review Dec 14, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




foodeeta reviewed Café d'Or, Burwood

Restaurants, Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian

Overall 6.8  70


8.3 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  7      Service  9      Value  8     


Walked in on a Saturday night without a booking. The place was fairly quiet compared to other restaurants in the street. Chose the banquet menu despite some hesitations but shouldn't have worried at all. The food was bought out rather quickly - firstly the dips and bread then the meat. The dips were amazing as was the tabouleh. Meat skewers were cooked to perfection. Service was polite and attentive and knowledgeable on the menu as well. We left very full and happy :) Definitely recommended.

Mobile Review Dec 14, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Brinsty reviewed Charing Cross Hotel, Waverley

Pubs, Modern European, Family Dining, Good For Groups, Air Conditioning

Overall 6.7  12


5 Average

Food  2      Drinks  7      Ambience  5      Service  8      Value  3     


Lots of hype about the newly renovated gastro pub so was on the 'must visit' list. What a disappointment. Two of us ordered the Sunday roast beef which arrived in a bowl/plate in a pool of gravy. The beef was blue and ringed with fat and gristle. We sent it back and it returned grey and inedible. Additional cooking is never a good idea, but at no point were we told it was served blue. Sadly it kept getting worse - the yorkshire pudding was like a gluggy muffin, the gravy unbelievably was tasteless. Only good thing about the meal was the veg - nicely roasted and with crispy crumbs scattered over top. Other meals were okay, a steak underdone, ordered medium rare, again it arrived blue. We posted a comment on their website saying what a let down the Sunday lunch had been, no reply. Would not recommend.

Dec 13, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




D W. reviewed Thai Riffic, Newtown

Restaurants, Thai, Good For Groups, Hip and Trendy, BYO

Overall 7  150


6.5 Recommended

Food  6      Ambience  7      Service  7      Value  6     


We had the salt and pepper tofu and mushroom dishes. Enjoyed the tofu dish but the mushroom dish was a tad too sweet. Service was ok. Nothing to rave about. May come back.

Dec 13, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Fanday reviewed Almustafa (Glebe), Glebe

Restaurants, Takeaways, Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Family Dining

Overall 6.6  169


9 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  9      Service  9      Value  9     


I took a group of 14 work colleagues as they wanted to have a Lebanese food experience... they were not disappointed. The food was delicious. We ordered one of the banquets and everyone ate to their hearts content. There was so much leftover and everyone filled take away containers to take home. Adele looked after us so much. Highly recommended.

Dec 13, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




jashunter reviewed Mojo's Tapas Bar, Bondi Beach

Restaurants, Spanish, Tapas, Licensed, Outdoor Dining

Overall 7.5  100


8 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  8      Service  9      Value  7     


Have been here a few times and one thing is consistent, friendly helpful staff and plenty of them. The boss does something right here and must keep them all very happy to come to work as it shows. Menu is light & fun & plenty of variety. Cocktails are great.. the bar staff know that cocktails actually need to contain alcohol.. something so many places seem to scam you on. Definitely worth a visit.

Dec 13, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Peter C. reviewed Il Lago, Baulkham Hills

Restaurants, Italian, Family Dining, Good for Business Dining, Good For Groups

Overall 7.4  52


9 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  8      Service  10      Value  9     


Haven't found the perfect Restaurant yet but this one's well up there. Making another visit today and we are very excited. We were blown away from the 1st experience. Fingers crossed I haven't jinxed it. Pete C.

Mobile Review Dec 11, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Gorjessbee10 reviewed Bistro Papillon, Sydney CBD

Restaurants, French, Good For Groups, Air Conditioning, Bistro/Brasserie

Overall 8.3  53


7.3 Recommended

Food  7      Ambience  8      Service  7      Value  7     


Lovely little French restaurant. Food is average, except my creme brûlée was delicious. Wines is amazing. Service good. Quite pricey with not so big portions of food. Will consider going back.

Dec 11, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next

 

Displaying: 1 - 20 of 776  





Anonymous photo Anonymous

Login / Register

Recently Viewed
Tell a Friend

Lists

    No items

    No items


New List

Add


Newsletter

Get deals, specials & news!

Sign Up
View a previous newsletter


expand

Browse Sydney


expand

Cuisines



expand

Dining Atmospheres



expand

Dining Features



expand

Bookings Online



expand

View



expand

Dietary Standards



expand

Opening Hours



expand

Delivery, Pick Up & Catering



expand

Awards



expand

Internet Access



expand

Accessibility





Close