Fresh User Reviews in Sydney


Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next

 

Displaying: 1 - 20 of 4283  




roszn reviewed Peppercorn Cafe, Mulgoa

Cafes, Modern Australian

Overall 7.2  36


7 Recommended

Food  8      Coffee  9      Ambience  8      Service  5      Value  5     


Food and waitress service is good - but 40 minutes wait for food on several occasions seems a bit rich. The kitchen seems to prepare table by table. When food finally arrives it's good, but the wait is too long for a Caesar Salad!

Oct 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Italian, Restaurant Bookings

Overall 7.8  50


7.8 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  7      Service  7      Value  9     


Very good restaurant for a neighbourhood restaurant. The food was generally of a very high standard, we tried the specials of the day and weren't disappointed. Service was friendly though a bit slow at times, however it was quite busy and there were only 2 wait staff in attendance. Really good value for the price, have paid much more for similar standard elsewhere. One tip: my husband was asked if he wanted coffee before or after dessert and he said after. It arrived before he was half-way through his dessert. This didn't trouble him, in fact he was happy with the timing, but I mention it because in my book, after dessert means just that: after you have finished. (something we debated all the way home!) Would definitely go again, so many good things left to try on the menu :)

Oct 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Elli L. reviewed Savta, Bondi Junction

Cafes

Overall 6.9  17


7.5 Recommended

Coffee  6      Ambience  9      Service  9      Value  6     


The place is very nice with a friendly atmosphere and staff. Their hot chocolate was too sweet but they have a nice selection of teas, I took a fresh mint tea and it was lovely.
Their terrace is nice although you can't smoke.

Oct 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




tindy reviewed GTs Hotel Restaurant, Surry Hills

Restaurants, Thai, Good for Business Dining, Good For Groups, Hip and Trendy

Overall 8  3


8.3 Highly Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  8      Service  8      Value  9     


Cheap and cheerful Thai food. Super quick service, fantastic pumpkin and chicken stir fry. Was pleasantly surprised!

Oct 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




musketeers reviewed Surry Gills, Surry Hills

Restaurants, Modern Australian, Serves Lunch

Overall 6  2


1 Not Recommended

Food  1      Ambience  1      Service  1      Value  1     


Not good service. Oily food. never going back.

Oct 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




MartDe reviewed Ribs & Burgers, Neutral Bay

Restaurants, American, Parking Station, Street Parking

Overall 6.2  29


3.3 Below Average

Food  3      Ambience  4      Service  3      Value  3     


Overpriced, Poor quality ingredients and slow. Pretty noisy too.

Oct 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




artforartssake reviewed Hurricane's Grill & Bar, Bondi Beach

Restaurants, Steak House, Has Bar, Licensed, Serves Dinner

Overall 6.9  253


7.5 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  8      Service  8      Value  6     


Booking

This must be one of the busiest restaurants in Bondi, so booking any night of the week is essential, especially on a weekend. We dined on a Sunday night and unfortunately, left our booking till the last minute so were only able to get a table for 8.30pm. Arriving about 30 min early we sat at the bar and whiled away the time drinking beer and snacking on calamari.

Food

As one would expect from a restaurant that’s been this popular for so long, the food is fresh, tasty and prepared with the best quality ingredients. The fare is traditional steakhouse style with a few vegetarian and seafood choices thrown in, but its meat that’s the main staple here. Four of us dined, and for starters we shared a rocket and Parmigiano salad. It was neatly presented with loads of nutritious ingredients, but at $20, quite pricey. For our mains, we played it safe by going for the basic sirloin steaks, at $30 a pop, (that’s with the 10% Sundays and pub hol surcharge.) These steaks are described as being for the “not-so-hungry” and they fit that description perfectly. They’re pretty small and with a meagre helping of chips, so in terms of value for money, you could do better at the local pub. But my steak was well cooked just the way I like it and the chips were crisp and crunchy, the perfect accompaniment to the meat. We ended up with what was supposed to be a sticky date pud ($16), but it looked and tasted more like mousse. Overall though, no-one can quibble about the quality of the offerings, although servings are too small to make for a satisfying and filling meal. Why people queue up to eat here at those prices is a mystery to me.

Ambience

As it’s always full, the ambience is busy, lively and energetic. Décor is fairly Spartan with plain furniture and concrete floors but as every square metre is filled with human bodies you’ll hardly notice that. There’s a bar counter at the entrance where you can buy a drink and nibbles while you wait for your table. The kitchen is glassed off on the far side but visible from inside the restaurant and the whole place is a blur of movement, action and activity! There’s outdoor seating too for those warm summer evenings.

Service

Clearly, staff have been adequately trained to deal with the crowds, because they all do their jobs in a calm, professional and efficient manner. They’re neatly turned out in smart black uniforms and they also know the menu well, so they are easily able to field any questions about the food. Our table waiter was particularly friendly, helpful and patient. And there’s no long wait for the meals either. We didn’t even have a chance to finish the starter before the mains were on the table and all that within less than 15 minutes of ordering.

Value

Fortunately we had our Ent Book card, which gives you a 25% discount up to $55 (that must be one of the most generous offers in the book). So, excluding drinks and a plate of calamari (which we purchased separately at the bar while waiting for our table), we paid $122 for the single salad, four mains including one veg platter and a dessert. Just remember to show your card at the bar counter if you order anything there before your meal. We forgot to, so we missed out on a $7 discount. Also bear in mind that the hated – and unnecessary – 10% surcharge is imposed on Sundays and pub hols, although you’d be hard pressed to find that in tiny print on the online menu.

Comfort

Despite the fact that the place is busy and the tables packed closely together, the noise absorbers on the walls work effectively to enable you to converse without too much problem. Toilets are well signposted and adequately supplied although no attempt is made to clean them during the evening so by about 9.30pm they’re in a pretty dirty state. The lighting is strong so it’s easy to read the clearly designed menu.

Location and Parking

This is another negative to prevent us from rushing back in a hurry. Parking is a nightmare at this location at the bottom of Roscoe Street, near the intersection with Campbell Parade. We eventually found a metered spot on Gould Street but had to pay for the privilege, even on a Sunday night.

Summary

A solid restaurant that runs like a well-oiled machine. However it’s too expensive without your Ent Book card and definitely to be avoided on a Sunday night or a pub hol unless you’re prepared to pay the surcharge. Probably best to come here on a weeknight anyway as Fri or Sat night would be too busy.

Memo

Book well in advance.

Oct 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Laurel reviewed Winery, The, Surry Hills

Restaurants, Modern Australian, Tapas, Has Bar, Licensed

Overall 7.5  98


8.3 Highly Recommended

Food  7      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  6     


Whilst The Winery is very expensive both food and wine, the ambiance and service is fantastic and certainly makes up for it. We had Matt and Jess look after our group for the whole afternoon and we truly enjoyed ourselves. They are adding a caviar and champagne specialty area which sounds exciting. Will definitely return.

Oct 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




The Old Bugger reviewed Dining Room, The, The Rocks

Restaurants, Modern Australian, Fine Dining, Good for Brunch, Good for Business Dining

Overall 7.6  105


9 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  10      Service  9      Value  8     


Been a few timess now and while the menu is not long there is always something worth the effort, as good a blue eye as I've had in a very long time. You're not going to beat that view either. Strong value for money for cooking as good as this. Wife loves it and I'm looking forwrad to coming back.

Oct 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Foodlizard reviewed Splatt Cafe, Cronulla

Cafes, Comfort Food, Good For Groups, BYO, Serves Breakfast

Overall 9.4  3


9.8 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Coffee  10      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  10     


A hidden jewel. Walking into the café I loved the décor and relaxed atmosphere. Looking over the water to Cronulla beach. Food and coffee was excellent and the service superb. Reminded me of my favourite cafes Melbourne and Newtown. Excellent venue for private parties. My favourite in Cronulla.

Oct 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Pizza, Serves Dinner, Serves Lunch, Serves Takeaway

Overall 9.6  2


9.5 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  9     


I only recently discovered this restaurant at Westfield North Rocks (as I seldom go to that level of the shopping mall). I was pleasantly surprised to find out that this restaurant is opened everyday throughout the day (ie. not closed in the afternoon). Great place for people who like to dine out for late lunch or early dinner. The layout of the restaurant is very spacious. We went there for the 1st time a couple of days ago for a light meal. We were greeted and served by a very friendly and efficient waitress. I especially love the Nutella Crepes dessert, it's very yummy (see attached photo). Rashay’s has a VIP membership system which costs $10 to join, at first I hesitated whether to join or not, then I realised that the VIP discounts that they offer could easily recoup the joining fee, so in the end I joined (we did not utilize the VIP discount during this visit as the discount is not applicable on the date of sign up, but will be available on my next visit. Also, I gave them a feedback on their website after the visit and they sent me a $10 voucher back as a token of appreciation, it's very generous of them. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Nutella filled crepes with fresh strawberries & va...


Oct 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Have A Great Day reviewed Temasek, Parramatta

Restaurants, Malaysian, Vegetarian, Family Dining, BYO

Overall 5.9  224


8 Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  6      Service  9      Value  8     


I went there for dinner with family, we have been there a number of times before but this time was probably the best in terms of food and service. The dishes that I liked most were the Lemongrass King Prawns and Garlic Eggplants, really yummy! Friendly and efficient service. We finished our meal within one hour. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Oct 22, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




JohR reviewed Bossley Park General Store & Deli, Bossley Park

Delicatessens

Overall 7.8  1


7.8 Recommended

Quality  8      Ambience  8      Service  8      Value  7     


Great atmosphere and range of italian meats. Highly recommended.

Mobile Review Oct 22, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




JohR reviewed Abhi's, North Strathfield

Restaurants, Indian, BYO, Citibank Dining Program, Has Bar

Overall 7.1  186


7.5 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  7      Service  9      Value  6     


Very tasty food and great service. We arrived just before closing but the service was top class. Would definitely recommend.

Kulfhi


Mobile Review Oct 22, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




hungryhippoo reviewed Ananas Bar & Brasserie, The Rocks

Restaurants, Bars, French, Mediterranean, Has Bar

Overall 7.8  21


6 Average

Food  6      Drinks  7      Ambience  6      Service  8      Value  3     


There seems to be new owners, new chef, new menu and new staff. Sadly the new menu is nothing special and they deleted all the amazing dishes from before! Entrees were ok. Mains were very disappointing - the hangar steak did not look appealing on the plate and was cooked dry and chewy, the beef cheeks were ok, mussels were salty and plain. The brioche, breads and wine was excellent. Snickers revolution still good. They ran out of good food month dessert on a wednesday. Service was overall good.

Mobile Review Oct 22, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Indian, BYO, Licensed, Serves Dinner

Overall 6.9  73


10 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  10     


Compelled to write this review based on the superb delivery of service from these guys. I had a milestone birthday and from the get go I knew with absolute confidence that it was going to be spectacular because of these guys focus on customer experience. I gave Rasan from surjits restaurant a brief. I wanted a class affair, I wanted the guests to mingle, to have the best food, best presentation, and most of all have a truly memorable experience and of course not have to lift a finger myself! Rasan suggested a canapés style menu – jumbo tandoori prawns, shot glass themed pan puri, chat in scotch glasses, goat curry on rice in traditional Chinese bowls etc etc. I went with all his suggestions and in the end the best catered function I have ever hosted thanks to Rasan and his team. Thank you Rasan, your professionalism, your attention to detail, your focus on deliverables was impeccable. Use these guys with absolute confidence – Thanks Rasan you are a champion.

Oct 22, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Davis0103 reviewed Aubergine, Dee Why Beach

Restaurants, European, Serves Breakfast, Serves Dinner, Serves Late Dining

Overall 5.4  26


1.8 Not Recommended

Food  2      Ambience  1      Service  2      Value  2     


Not a very nice experience for a night out. The food was very average and the serves not very filling, I actually still felt hungry even after the meal and I am not a big eater, the antipasto platter I could have done a better job myself, it was very poor and not very nice to eat at all. The mains not enjoyable very blah blah and not impressed, the restaurant was so bright, dimmed lights would have been better and the waitress looked like she had been dragged out of bed after a big night out, no wander it was empty on a sat night when all the other places were booked out. I won't be going back again.

Oct 22, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




dandyprat reviewed La Renaissance Patisserie, The Rocks

Cafes, Cake Shops and Patisseries, French, Family Dining, Good For Groups

Overall 7.5  81


8.3 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  8      Service  8      Value  8     


I have been coming here for many years. It is one of my two favourite patisseries in Sydney, the other being C'est Bon in Rozelle. Quality ingredients turned into spectacular savoury and sweet pastries, desserts, macarons, slices and cakes. Lovely little courtyard where the rosellas come done and steal the packets of sugar. I try to get the table outside the kitchen so I can watch the amazing pastry chefs at work.

Oct 22, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




toby6969 reviewed Deniro's Restaurant Pizzeria, Fairfield Heights

Restaurants, Takeaways, Italian, Pizza, BYO

Overall 8.2  14


7.8 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  7      Service  8      Value  8     


Very good pizza and pasta, could not fault and Iam fussy, would recommend as feel best in area.

Mobile Review Oct 22, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




dandyprat reviewed C'est Bon, Rozelle

Cafes, Cake Shops and Patisseries, European

Overall 7.8  2


8.3 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  8      Service  8      Value  8     


This is one of my 2 favourite patisseries in Sydney, the other being Renaissance in The Rocks. Quality ingredients turned into spectacular savoury and sweet pastries and cakes. Great service, a pity I don't live closer, but I try to get here once a week even though it means travelling a distance.

Oct 22, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next

 

Displaying: 1 - 20 of 4283  





Anonymous photo Anonymous

Login / Register

Recently Viewed
Tell a Friend

Lists

    No items

    No items


New List

Add


Newsletter

Get deals, specials & news!

Sign Up
View a previous newsletter


expand

Browse Sydney


expand

Cuisines



expand

Dining Atmospheres



expand

Dining Features



expand

Bookings Online



expand

View



expand

Dietary Standards



expand

Opening Hours



expand

Delivery, Pick Up & Catering



expand

Awards



expand

Internet Access



expand

Accessibility





Close