Fresh User Reviews for Fish and Chips in Sydney


Page: 1 2 3 Next

 

Displaying: 1 - 20 of 49  




Ruth S. reviewed Fish & Co., Annandale

Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Seafood, Family Dining, Fine Dining

Overall 7  110


9 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  9      Service  9      Value  9     


We have recently moved to Annandale from interstate and are loving the local choice of coffee and food establishments. Fish & Co has just been added to our list. The food was perfectly cooked and the service was friendly and accommodating. Tom the chef also took the time to sit with us to explain the sustainable sourcing of the seafood, wine and coffee. His passion and experience in the global fishing industry was engaging. Another highlight worthy of a special mention is the coffee which is supplied by the Alexandra company, Número Uno. I ordered a double expresso which was creamy and delicious. Will definitely be coming back.

Jul 11, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




kengoey69 reviewed Armory Wharf Cafe, Newington

Cafes, Fish and Chips, Modern Australian, Seafood, Family Dining

Overall 6  87


5.2 Average

Food  6      Coffee  6      Ambience  6      Service  3      Value  5     


We had a1pm booking on a regular old Sunday for four people, which we had booked well in advance. Given this, it infuriates me that we get the table that's in the crappiest position in the whole place, stuck right in the middle of the floor directly in front of the servery. Regardless of our position, we were ignored for 20 minutes by all & sundry (trust me, there were plenty of staff members running around|), and I even asked one young lass to send somebody over to take our drinks order, and as I watched she did absolutely nothing about it, not even speaking to anyone.

When finally we had our drinks order taken we had to wait another 20 minutes for it to arrive. The place was busy sure, but if you can't cope then lower your customer intake! Eventually, we shared a tasty seafood share platter for an entrée, and two of us had the 'hint of curry' mussels, that came with such a boring, insipid thin broth which left me wishing I had ordered something else. Others had the strangely presented lamb shank pie (the frenched bone in a bowl sticking out from under a square sheet of pastry), and the calamari, which they both enjoyed. I, for one, won't be rushing back here anytime soon.

Jul 10, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Daniel V. reviewed Fish & Co., Annandale

Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Seafood, Family Dining, Fine Dining

Overall 7  110


9 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  8      Service  10      Value  8     


Food is always fantastic. Had the fish curry and the lady had the clam chowder. Perfect winter warmers, and each unique in their own taste. This place never disappoints, aside from the fish pie no longer a regular on the menu. The place is only small and very intimate so be sure to book a table.

Mobile Review Jul 04, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




salupk reviewed Psari Shop, The, Dulwich Hill

Cafes, Fish and Chips, Ample or Convenient Parking, Free Parking, Off Street Parking

Overall 7.7  14


1 Not Recommended

Food  1      Ambience  1      Value  1     


I think the seafood was frozen, it didn't have any flavour. We order fish and chips and fried prawn cocktail. There was only the flavour of the oil and I felt bloating. Same thing for my partner but not as bad. There was a loud awful radio music so all in all a bad experience.

Jun 29, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




alexanderk reviewed Fish Shop, The, Potts Point

Restaurants, Bars, Fish and Chips, Licensed, Serves Dinner

Overall 7.1  18


8.8 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Drinks  8      Ambience  9      Service  10      Value  8     


Great up market fish and chips, plenty of variety in different seafood dishes, staff are great too. Definitely recommend!

Mobile Review Jun 28, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




plumber77 reviewed King Henry's Court, Penrith

Restaurants, Cafes, Comfort Food, English, European

Overall 7.4  71


6.8 Recommended

Food  7      Ambience  7      Service  6      Value  7     


Interesting sardine box! Food wasn't bad but talk about cramped and noisy! Couldn't wait to get out lol.

Mobile Review Jun 27, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Modern Australian, Seafood, Family Dining

Overall 5.5  55


2 Not Recommended

Food  2     


Worst fish and chips ever.

Jun 26, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Rhonda M reviewed Rashays, Penrith

Restaurants, Fish and Chips

Overall 6.4  2


7.8 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  6      Service  9      Value  8     


Went for a family birthday party. Could not fault the food or service which was excellent. Plenty to choose from between pasta, pizza, chicken dishes, steak and some fish. All at reasonable prices. Would highly recommend this restaurant for the family. (My teenager also regularly meets friends here and buys the cheaper $10 meals). Full glass windows make it sunny and bright and give atmosphere at night. Only downside is with timber floors and glass windows the restaurant is very noisy when busy but probably no different than any busy coffee club or cafe.

Jun 24, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Nightclubs, Barbeque, Fish and Chips, Lebanese

Overall 5.8  25


6.4 Recommended

Food  7      Drinks  10      Ambience  5      Service  5      Value  5     


My second time was on Saturday 21st June 2014, was very disappointed, entertainment was terrible, karaoke goes for too long, did not receive all the food that we paid for, did not hand out plates and cutlery for the b'day cake had to use extra napkins, seating was to over booked was sitting on top of each other, felt very cramped, overall not worth $50.00.

Jun 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Modern Australian, Seafood, Family Dining

Overall 5.5  55


1.7 Not Recommended

Food  2      Service  2      Value  1     


I have never felt so ripped off for takeaway food. Over priced, average take away seafood and you also have to wait so long. Would've rather went to the bistro next to it.

Mobile Review Jun 22, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Nightclubs, Barbeque, Fish and Chips, Lebanese

Overall 5.8  25


1.2 Not Recommended

Food  1      Drinks  2      Ambience  1      Service  1      Value  1     


Worst experience ever. Every time you walked outside the security would man handle which they called checking your bag on the way back in FYI it is illegal to physically touch a patrons goods! Food was ice cold, mezza was not fresh and mains were not served until 12.30am in which by then most people left because they were not being fed! Table was covered in mezza plates so when the mains (what little there was) arrived the waiter put it in our hands so we could find space for the plates and walked off! Never heard of paying before you enter for someone like this and because of this, friends who were not eating were not allowed in! $50 a head for some carrot sticks and under cooked cold chicken hmm never again!

Jun 22, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Gastrofool reviewed Fish & Co., Annandale

Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Seafood, Family Dining, Fine Dining

Overall 7  110


7.8 Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  7      Service  7      Value  8     


Have eaten there two weeks in a row and have found very good attention to detail at this restaurant. Has the external demeanour of a fish cafe but the meals are always surprising and engaging. The "sustainable fishing" motif would be an empty attraction if the food wasn't so damn tasty. Ate a cold climate lobster last night, where the chef had painstaking teased out the intact claw meat and packed it within the body of the crustacean. It was sweet and snow white and went perfectly with the Pinot Gris. It can be a bit of a jolt when the bill comes but then good food is the best investment ever. The kids food must also be very good given the fact that my 5 year old son attempted to hug the waitress out of gratitude for his panko crumbed fish.

Jun 14, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Jenny P. reviewed Opera Kitchen, Sydney CBD

Restaurants, Cafes, Takeaways, Burger, Fish and Chips

Overall 6.1  15


6.3 Average

Food  9      Ambience  8      Service  1      Value  7     


Fantastic food, the chefs are great here. Unfortunately the waitstaff really let them down. We were waiting an hour for our food, when we followed up our order the waitress said she forgot. Considering we were sitting there for an hour staving I thought a free drink would have at least been on the cards to compensate. Such rude rude staff and management which is such a shame.

Mobile Review Jun 05, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Modern Australian, Seafood, Family Dining

Overall 5.5  55


5.3 Average

Food  3      Ambience  8      Service  8      Value  2     


Doyles have always been overrated. They do not serve the best in quality fish. This outlet also has a dining room for sitting after you order from the takeway counter outside. Service is fast and the staff are friendly and helpful. My serving of New Zealand Sole was large and fresh but it was placed on top of the chips. This made the chips stick to the paper underneath them. The salad was very disappointing, very tired and did not look fresh. It was all stringy greens-the real cheap stuff. The location is great but the food quality is pretty dismal compared with most other fish and chip outlets.

Jun 05, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




kengoey69 reviewed Fish Affair, Concord

Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Seafood, Street Parking

Overall 7.8  1


7.8 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  6      Service  8      Value  9     


I haven't had Fish & Chips for years, but I might be indulging here a little more after today. We had Seafood Baskets, normally $14, but on a docket mailed out by the venue they were $10. They were huge, with three pieces of fish, a crab claw, a prawn cutlet, two calamari and a stack of great chips. I would have happily paid $14, and still thought it was great value. All components were tasty, and cooked just right. They're relatively new, we're hoping they'll keep it up.

May 31, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Naodithium reviewed Railway Cafe, Riverstone

Cafes, Burger, Fish and Chips, Greek, Mediterranean

Overall 5.8  3


8 Recommended

Food  8      Coffee  6      Ambience  9      Service  9      Value  8     


Situated conveniently close to the train station this humble cafe has a lot to offer which was rather surprising... for a tiny business. With plenty to choose from some advice for the curious visitor, you';d best bring an appetite and select a combo. I recommend the Hamburger Combo, they give you exactly what you ask for. This is the perfect place for a quick feed. The service was warm and enjoyable everyone smiled and did their jobs. The coffee isn't too bad with room for improvement.

May 26, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Modern Australian, Seafood, Family Dining

Overall 5.5  55


4 Below Average

Food  3      Ambience  4      Service  5      Value  4     


What a disappointment - does not live up to its recommendation. Only thing going for it is its location. If you're game, get a take away and sit in the park overlooking the harbour.

May 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |

PRK PRK
2



Lily925 reviewed Jannali Village Seafood, Jannali

Restaurants, Fish and Chips

Overall 10  1


10 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  10     


Freshest, cleanest place I ever been.

May 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Astino reviewed Manly Ocean Foods, Manly

Takeaways, Fish and Chips

Overall 5.8  1


5.8 Average

Food  5      Ambience  5      Service  7      Value  6     


Nice clean take away fish and chip shop that has been here for ages. Considering the likely (high) overheads, it's probably not bad value. The batter needs to be lightened up especially for the flathead tails which take but a minute to cook - the flathead fish tails end up being over cooked but the heavy duty batter is undercooked (the artificial light yellow batter colour tries to compensate for the lack of golden finish). The standard serving of fish and chips works best. Chips are of the fattish variety. Portion sizes are moderate.

May 21, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




N H. reviewed Out of the Blue Takeaway, Clovelly

Takeaways, Burger, Fish and Chips, Serves Takeaway

Overall 4.7  25


2.5 Not Recommended

Food  5      Ambience  1      Service  1      Value  3     


I went down with wife and 5 year old to place a pretty simple order of three fish and chips here at Out of the Blue Takeaway. After about 35 minutes, I was told that my order had been stuffed up and they were cooking a piece of fish again. After 45 mins, we finally got our food. The herb marinated grilled fish was above average and the battered fish was good, too. To be fair, the guy who told us our order was stuffed up was nice and gave us an extra piece of fish and some sauces for free.

The galling and unsatisfactory thing was that countless "mates" of the staff (the handshaking, first hand basis, back slapping kind) roamed in throughout our wait, ordered and received their food while we waited. By my count, at least 30-40 people ordered and received their food before we got ours. What the hell is with that? Basically, if you don't know them, don't go, unless you like being treated like a second class citizen.

May 18, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Page: 1 2 3 Next

 

Displaying: 1 - 20 of 49  





Anonymous photo Anonymous

Login / Register

Recently Viewed
Tell a Friend

Lists

    No items

    No items


New List

Add


Newsletter

Get deals, specials & news!

Sign Up
View a previous newsletter


expand

Browse Sydney


expand

Cuisines



expand

Dining Atmospheres



expand

Dining Features



expand

Bookings Online



expand

View



expand

Dietary Standards



expand

Opening Hours



expand

Delivery, Pick Up & Catering



expand

Awards



expand

Internet Access



expand

Accessibility





Close