Fresh User Reviews for Fish and Chips in Sydney


Page: 1 2 3 Next

 

Displaying: 1 - 20 of 48  




Mars53 reviewed Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, Watsons Bay

Pubs, Fish and Chips, Seafood, Family Dining, Good for Brunch

Overall 5  14


3.4 Below Average

Food  1      Drinks  5      Ambience  5      Service  5      Value  1     


Do not waste money on food. Overpriced for we got. The Fish Pie was a bowl of mash potato in white sauce with 1 prawn and not much else. It was awful. The quinoa salad was very bland and the flat bread was swimming in oil. The dishes were quite expensive and well below standard.

Aug 17, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Highlander 2 reviewed Shakespeare Hotel, Surry Hills

Pubs, Burger, Fish and Chips, Family Dining, Good For Groups

Overall 10  1


10 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  10     


I like a good steak and that's why I ordered the porterhouse, on the night of friday the 8th August.

Aug 10, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Katrina D. reviewed Fish & Co., Annandale

Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Seafood, Family Dining, Fine Dining

Overall 7  112


8.3 Highly Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  7      Service  10      Value  8     


Always a reliable choice. All menu choices are good choices for the planet, but you can also choose amazing food that represents good nutrition too. Service is lovely. The chef is attentive, hot and has a charming English accent.

Aug 08, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




L12345 reviewed Opera Kitchen, Sydney CBD

Restaurants, Cafes, Takeaways, Burger, Fish and Chips

Overall 6.1  16


3.8 Below Average

Food  6      Ambience  6      Service  1      Value  2     


The service at this place is terrible, a waiter with an attitude and food that comes out at different times (apparently there are different kitchens, but they don't tell you that when ordering). The worst part was a credit card being demanded the moment food had been set down, as apparently they can't keep an eye on the whole restaurant... perhaps then you should have to pay when you order? When we asked that our credit card not be taken away, the manager came over and very condescendingly stated that there shouldn't be a problem with the waiter as he's very good at his job. This may normally be the case, but it certainly wasn’t on this occasion. This was a birthday meal with visiting relatives, but we live in Sydney and would never go back, or recommend this place to other visiting family or friends, based on the way customers are treated here.

Aug 05, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




dave y reviewed Rossini Restaurant, Circular Quay

Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Italian, Salads, Family Dining

Overall 5.2  55


4.5 Below Average

Food  6      Ambience  6      Service  5      Value  1     


Had breakfast here Sunday before work and ordered open toasted sandwich , ham,cheese,and tomato, and a decaf coffee, and really did not pay attention to the bill at the end then later on that night checked pants pocket and got charged $19.30 for it, so value for me was pretty poor, even with the 10% Sunday surcharge added was a bit of a shock, maybe I will try another place next time, ps this was my fault for not saying something when paying.

Aug 04, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




eav68 reviewed Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel, Watsons Bay

Pubs, Fish and Chips, Seafood, Family Dining, Good for Brunch

Overall 5  14


4.6 Below Average

Food  1      Drinks  7      Ambience  8      Service  6      Value  1     


Do not eat here is the message you need to take away from any independent review! We went hoping the refurb had extended to the kitchen - it hadn't. To describe the food as mediocre is to flatter it. Four people, four different dishes, all poor. Great spot for a few drinks, but if you want to eat, nip over to the Doyles take-away. We were early, service was very prompt, and staff were pleasant. The food is overpriced and ordinary.

Aug 04, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Warwick_Erin reviewed Fish & Co., Annandale

Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Seafood, Family Dining, Fine Dining

Overall 7  112


10 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  10     


Fish and Co. consistently provides us with a great night out - wonderful in every way. The food is very very good and the service is exceptional. Nowhere else have we experienced the friendly and personal service that we do at Fish and Co. The menu is varied, with top produce, all sustainably sourced. The food is simply yum, and doesn't leave you feeling heavy - you really can tell that the chefs use the freshest and best. We always get the same two meals and swap halfway through. We keep saying we will try something new, but the Thai fish curry and seafood spaghetti seems to have a hold on us, and we are never disappointed. Love it!

Mobile Review Jul 26, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Ruth S. reviewed Fish & Co., Annandale

Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Seafood, Family Dining, Fine Dining

Overall 7  112


9 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  9      Service  9      Value  9     


We have recently moved to Annandale from interstate and are loving the local choice of coffee and food establishments. Fish & Co has just been added to our list. The food was perfectly cooked and the service was friendly and accommodating. Tom the chef also took the time to sit with us to explain the sustainable sourcing of the seafood, wine and coffee. His passion and experience in the global fishing industry was engaging. Another highlight worthy of a special mention is the coffee which is supplied by the Alexandra company, Número Uno. I ordered a double expresso which was creamy and delicious. Will definitely be coming back.

Jul 11, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




kengoey69 reviewed Armory Wharf Cafe, Newington

Cafes, Fish and Chips, Modern Australian, Seafood, Family Dining

Overall 6  87


5.2 Average

Food  6      Coffee  6      Ambience  6      Service  3      Value  5     


We had a1pm booking on a regular old Sunday for four people, which we had booked well in advance. Given this, it infuriates me that we get the table that's in the crappiest position in the whole place, stuck right in the middle of the floor directly in front of the servery. Regardless of our position, we were ignored for 20 minutes by all & sundry (trust me, there were plenty of staff members running around|), and I even asked one young lass to send somebody over to take our drinks order, and as I watched she did absolutely nothing about it, not even speaking to anyone.

When finally we had our drinks order taken we had to wait another 20 minutes for it to arrive. The place was busy sure, but if you can't cope then lower your customer intake! Eventually, we shared a tasty seafood share platter for an entrée, and two of us had the 'hint of curry' mussels, that came with such a boring, insipid thin broth which left me wishing I had ordered something else. Others had the strangely presented lamb shank pie (the frenched bone in a bowl sticking out from under a square sheet of pastry), and the calamari, which they both enjoyed. I, for one, won't be rushing back here anytime soon.

Jul 10, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Daniel V. reviewed Fish & Co., Annandale

Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Seafood, Family Dining, Fine Dining

Overall 7  112


9 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  8      Service  10      Value  8     


Food is always fantastic. Had the fish curry and the lady had the clam chowder. Perfect winter warmers, and each unique in their own taste. This place never disappoints, aside from the fish pie no longer a regular on the menu. The place is only small and very intimate so be sure to book a table.

Mobile Review Jul 04, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




salupk reviewed Psari Shop, The, Dulwich Hill

Cafes, Fish and Chips, Ample or Convenient Parking, Free Parking, Off Street Parking

Overall 7.7  14


1 Not Recommended

Food  1      Ambience  1      Value  1     


I think the seafood was frozen, it didn't have any flavour. We order fish and chips and fried prawn cocktail. There was only the flavour of the oil and I felt bloating. Same thing for my partner but not as bad. There was a loud awful radio music so all in all a bad experience.

Jun 29, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




alexanderk reviewed Fish Shop, The, Potts Point

Restaurants, Bars, Fish and Chips, Licensed, Serves Dinner

Overall 7.1  18


8.8 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Drinks  8      Ambience  9      Service  10      Value  8     


Great up market fish and chips, plenty of variety in different seafood dishes, staff are great too. Definitely recommend!

Mobile Review Jun 28, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




plumber77 reviewed King Henry's Court, Penrith

Restaurants, Cafes, Comfort Food, English, European

Overall 7.4  71


6.8 Recommended

Food  7      Ambience  7      Service  6      Value  7     


Interesting sardine box! Food wasn't bad but talk about cramped and noisy! Couldn't wait to get out lol.

Mobile Review Jun 27, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Modern Australian, Seafood, Family Dining

Overall 5.5  55


2 Not Recommended

Food  2     


Worst fish and chips ever.

Jun 26, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Rhonda M reviewed Rashays, Penrith

Restaurants, Fish and Chips

Overall 6.4  2


7.8 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  6      Service  9      Value  8     


Went for a family birthday party. Could not fault the food or service which was excellent. Plenty to choose from between pasta, pizza, chicken dishes, steak and some fish. All at reasonable prices. Would highly recommend this restaurant for the family. (My teenager also regularly meets friends here and buys the cheaper $10 meals). Full glass windows make it sunny and bright and give atmosphere at night. Only downside is with timber floors and glass windows the restaurant is very noisy when busy but probably no different than any busy coffee club or cafe.

Jun 24, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Nightclubs, Barbeque, Fish and Chips, Lebanese

Overall 5.8  25


6.4 Recommended

Food  7      Drinks  10      Ambience  5      Service  5      Value  5     


My second time was on Saturday 21st June 2014, was very disappointed, entertainment was terrible, karaoke goes for too long, did not receive all the food that we paid for, did not hand out plates and cutlery for the b'day cake had to use extra napkins, seating was to over booked was sitting on top of each other, felt very cramped, overall not worth $50.00.

Jun 23, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Modern Australian, Seafood, Family Dining

Overall 5.5  55


1.7 Not Recommended

Food  2      Service  2      Value  1     


I have never felt so ripped off for takeaway food. Over priced, average take away seafood and you also have to wait so long. Would've rather went to the bistro next to it.

Mobile Review Jun 22, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Nightclubs, Barbeque, Fish and Chips, Lebanese

Overall 5.8  25


1.2 Not Recommended

Food  1      Drinks  2      Ambience  1      Service  1      Value  1     


Worst experience ever. Every time you walked outside the security would man handle which they called checking your bag on the way back in FYI it is illegal to physically touch a patrons goods! Food was ice cold, mezza was not fresh and mains were not served until 12.30am in which by then most people left because they were not being fed! Table was covered in mezza plates so when the mains (what little there was) arrived the waiter put it in our hands so we could find space for the plates and walked off! Never heard of paying before you enter for someone like this and because of this, friends who were not eating were not allowed in! $50 a head for some carrot sticks and under cooked cold chicken hmm never again!

Jun 22, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Gastrofool reviewed Fish & Co., Annandale

Restaurants, Fish and Chips, Seafood, Family Dining, Fine Dining

Overall 7  112


7.8 Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  7      Service  7      Value  8     


Have eaten there two weeks in a row and have found very good attention to detail at this restaurant. Has the external demeanour of a fish cafe but the meals are always surprising and engaging. The "sustainable fishing" motif would be an empty attraction if the food wasn't so damn tasty. Ate a cold climate lobster last night, where the chef had painstaking teased out the intact claw meat and packed it within the body of the crustacean. It was sweet and snow white and went perfectly with the Pinot Gris. It can be a bit of a jolt when the bill comes but then good food is the best investment ever. The kids food must also be very good given the fact that my 5 year old son attempted to hug the waitress out of gratitude for his panko crumbed fish.

Jun 14, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Jenny P. reviewed Opera Kitchen, Sydney CBD

Restaurants, Cafes, Takeaways, Burger, Fish and Chips

Overall 6.1  16


6.3 Average

Food  9      Ambience  8      Service  1      Value  7     


Fantastic food, the chefs are great here. Unfortunately the waitstaff really let them down. We were waiting an hour for our food, when we followed up our order the waitress said she forgot. Considering we were sitting there for an hour staving I thought a free drink would have at least been on the cards to compensate. Such rude rude staff and management which is such a shame.

Mobile Review Jun 05, 2014 

Was this review helpful?   |




Page: 1 2 3 Next

 

Displaying: 1 - 20 of 48  





Anonymous photo Anonymous

Login / Register

Recently Viewed
Tell a Friend

Lists

    No items

    No items


New List

Add


Newsletter

Get deals, specials & news!

Sign Up
View a previous newsletter


expand

Browse Sydney


expand

Cuisines



expand

Dining Atmospheres



expand

Dining Features



expand

Bookings Online



expand

View



expand

Dietary Standards



expand

Opening Hours



expand

Delivery, Pick Up & Catering



expand

Awards



expand

Internet Access



expand

Accessibility





Close