Fresh User Reviews in Melbourne


Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next

 

Displaying: 1 - 20 of 205  




misskezz reviewed St Martha's Cafe, Essendon

Cafes, Modern Australian, Family Dining, Good for Brunch, Good For Groups

Overall 6.7  3


10 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Coffee  10      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  10     


Heading to Essendon (my hometown) for brunch and actually heading to a different café only to find I couldn't get in I stumbled across St Martha's and what a find! I wandered in and was seated as requested, somewhere nice and quiet where I could read the paper and escape for a while. I ordered a coffee and sat back to relax. First thing I notice is the comfy wooden chairs - not two words that normally go together but in this case it works as does the quirky mismatched stools and chairs throughout - its really quite cool.

My coffee arrives and being that I am a self confessed "coffee snob" I was pleasantly surprised to find how damn good this coffee was - each and every mouthful of it was to die for. Not long after ordering my Corn Fritters arrived and what a sight to behold! Two big corn fritters bursting with an abundance of vegies within sitting nestled atop a rocket salad, some home made tomato salsa and topped with three slices of beautifully grilled haloumi cheese and the worlds best poached egg. The first bite was like a flavour explosion of sweet tasting corn, rich tomato and what was that... pomegranate! Oh lord - could this get any better? Apparently once I cut through the most perfect poached egg it could get better.

This place is a gem of a find. Parking is in the side street and a short wander (or in my case given that I have a walking stick - a slow amble). I will be back St Martha's you can bet on that - there's far too many things on the menu I haven't tried yet and if they stack up to the Corn Fritters my waistline is in trouble!

The staff are a delight and the cute table decorations and cutlery holders are just that special finishing touch that you expect from an establishment as finished and polished as this. They have left nothing undone or incomplete. Well done St Martha's - bravo!

Mar 23, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Nos from Maroubra reviewed Rosa's Canteen, Melbourne CBD

Restaurants, Italian, Restaurant Bookings

Overall 7  1


7 Recommended

Food  7      Ambience  7      Service  7      Value  7     


All in all a nice vibe in this place serving up some starters, pasta's & pizza's. Its hidden away, upstairs off the street so you may miss it when walking past. Its perhaps aimed at GEN Y with all the high seats but nevertheless we enjoyed some tasty pasta's here on the night.

Mar 23, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Nos from Maroubra reviewed Vons Restaurant & Bar, Melbourne CBD

Restaurants, Mediterranean, Family Dining, Good For Groups, Child Friendly

Overall 6.1  14


6.3 Average

Food  6      Ambience  6      Service  6      Value  7     


Nothing really special here although our group of 4 all enjoyed tasty, generous meals at affordable prices. The service was friendly & the ambiance indoors was fine. Not for any special occasion but just a decent valued meal.

Mar 23, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




John K. reviewed Aksorn Thai, Doreen

Restaurants, Thai, Good For Groups, Licensed, Serves Dinner

Overall 6.8  2


8.3 Highly Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  7      Service  9      Value  9     


We bought our food to take away. We asked for recommendations and ordered based on the recommendation. We enjoyed the food and would gladly recommend this restaurant and go back again.

Mobile Review Mar 22, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Nos from Maroubra reviewed Cafe Andiamo, Melbourne CBD

Cafes, Burger, Licensed, Outdoor Dining, Serves Breakfast

Overall 7.3  8


6.8 Recommended

Food  6      Ambience  7      Service  7      Value  7     


Delightful place with a good variety of snacks or meals. Service is attentive, cozy ambiance with a good vibe. Our selections of entree's and salads were very tasty and filling. Overall decent value here.

Mar 22, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Niall B. reviewed Nipa Hut, Mitcham

Restaurants, Thai, Serves Takeaway, Menulog Delivery and Pickup

Overall 9  1


9 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  6      Service  10      Value  10     


Don't let the size of the place fool you. Nipa Hut serves up some of the most authentic and tasty food outside of Thailand and the Philippines. Real value for money. Try it, you will not regret it.

Mobile Review Mar 22, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Niall B. reviewed Mishou's Cafe, Mitcham

Cafes

Overall 10  1


10 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Coffee  10      Ambience  10      Service  10     


Michael and Linda make you feel welcome. Their food is good wholesome food, their coffee is excellent and it is a pleasure to go there.

Mobile Review Mar 22, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Niall B. reviewed Mitcham Hotel, Mitcham

Pubs

Overall 4.1  10


1.3 Not Recommended

Food  1      Drinks  2      Ambience  1      Service  1     


With so many good restaurants around in Mitcham you would think they would lift their game, but no. They have a captive audience from the pokies and couldn't care less about either customer service, their food or their neighbours .

Mobile Review Mar 22, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Ma C. reviewed Sake Restaurant & Bar, Melbourne CBD

Restaurants, Japanese, Has Bar, Outdoor Dining, Restaurant Bookings

Overall 8.2  3


8.8 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  10      Service  8      Value  8     


Great place to take friends. Sitting outside and enjoying the river, great cocktails and delicious japanese food.

Mar 21, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Ma C. reviewed Attica, Ripponlea

Restaurants, Modern Australian, Good For Groups, Good Wine List, Has Bar

Overall 9  27


9.5 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  8     


Great experience. Unexpected and delightful. Warn environment and service.

Mar 21, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Ma C. reviewed A Fan's Notes, Carlton North

Cafes, Modern Australian, Good for Brunch, Good For Groups, Licensed

Overall 9.4  1


9.4 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Coffee  9      Ambience  10      Service  9      Value  10     


Excellent cafe that has yet to be discovered. Great food and coffee, courtyard, nice table, old rock records, nice vibe, no fuss. It's just comfortable, a great place to relax.

Mar 21, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Alihawk reviewed Donatos, Melbourne CBD

Restaurants, Italian

Overall 7.4  6


7.3 Recommended

Food  7      Ambience  6      Service  8      Value  8     


This café is consistent - good coffee every single time. The setting and location is ideal for business meetings over refreshments, you may also want to have a breakfast or lunch meeting here. The menu has a good selection and you can see right into the kitchen so you know things are made on site and fresh. It's a long-standing establishment of Bourke Street and a favourite of many.

Mar 18, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Nos from Maroubra reviewed Grill Steak Seafood, Melbourne CBD

Restaurants, Italian, Seafood, Steak House, Good For Groups

Overall 6.5  8


6.3 Average

Food  6      Ambience  7      Service  6      Value  6     


Overpriced, its really just for the visitors & tourists. You are rushed to make decisions by the service staff while some of the meals we ordered were very poor while others were just ok. Beware as they can serve up a 200gm steak masquerading as 400gm. Ambiance is fine especially outdoors on a warm evening.

Mar 18, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




GaikSze reviewed Ziyka Restaurant, Carlton

Restaurants, Indian, Good For Groups, Serves Takeaway

Overall 8  1


8 Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  6      Service  7      Value  10     


This is one of the best Indian restaurants I've been to in Melbourne. The staff are very friendly, but it is small and reasonably spare decor wise, so not really the place for a romantic evening out. The food is amazing though and extremely good value for money as it is very cheap. We've been going regularly for a while now and all of the dishes have been great. We usually order from the menu, although they do have a deal where you can just order a plate from the bain marie.

My friend said she had poor quality take away from here recently, but the food when we eat in has always been great. The naan is not the best around, so we usually go for roti instead, but the curries have all been excellent, particularly the dahl dishes. It is one of the best value places around, and certainly a favourite for us.

Mar 17, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




GaikSze reviewed Olive Jar Cafe, Carlton

Cafes, Mediterranean, Good for Brunch, Good For Groups, Licensed

Overall 7.5  1


7.5 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  8      Service  8      Value  6     


This place is very welcoming with lovely hand-made pasta and a rustic serving style. The staff are very friendly and make the pasta to order - even bringing it over on the board they have just rolled it out and cut it on before taking it off to cook. They aim to do everything 'just the way grandma used to', and the selection of pastas that we have tried have all been very good. My friend described hers as 'possibly the best pasta marinara I've had'.

The pizza was also very nice and the gelato is excellent as well. It isn't cheap food, but it not hugely expensive either and is good quality and reasonable value for money. It is on a lovely section of Rathdowne St that is often overlooked but actually has some great food on it. Within this block it is probably the third best in terms of quality of food, with prices that reflect this. The one issue we've had is that the wine is a bit overpriced and it wasn't easy for one of the group to just order something small to eat - the antipasto platter was quite big and $18, which wasn't really what she was looking for. Overall it is a lovely place though and certainly a good place to go when in the area and feeling like some pasta or pizza.

Mar 17, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




skatedog reviewed Vue de Monde, Melbourne CBD

Restaurants, European, Fine Dining, Good For Groups, Bistro/Brasserie

Overall 8.8  89


10 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  10     


Awesome setting, it was more than just lunch, it was an experience. We were taken through a journey of different tastes and a unique way of dinning. Would definitely recommend and go back.

Mobile Review Mar 17, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Amanda S. reviewed Kelly Cube, Docklands

Restaurants, Takeaways, International, Good For Groups, Food Delivery

Overall 10  1


10 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  10     


The best steak I have tasted in Melbourne. Healthy raw wholefoods eating. So fun and easy. Love it.

Gippsland grass fed beef healthy fresh food box de...


Mobile Review Mar 16, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Bars

Overall 6  1


6 Average

Drinks  7      Ambience  5      Service  5      Value  7     


Enjoyed the food and beer. Service was ok. We needed to ask to order and they forgot to bring drinks after we ordered. To their defence it was a public holiday but we were sitting beside the bar. I would definitely go there again and see what it was like in a quieter day.

Mobile Review Mar 16, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Ma C. reviewed Jackson Dodds, Preston

Cafes, Serves Breakfast, Serves Lunch

Overall 7.2  4


3.6 Below Average

Food  3      Coffee  4      Ambience  5      Service  3      Value  3     


The bread is not too fresh. Poached eggs good. Wasp flying around so waiter sprayed everywhere so I didn't drink my tea after that. Took around 35 minutes to get my breakfast avocado with poached eggs. I think they forgot about me.

Mar 15, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




craig_f reviewed Young and Jackson Hotel, Melbourne CBD

Pubs, Licensed

Overall 7.5  12


8.8 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Drinks  10      Ambience  8      Service  9      Value  8     


Great pub, love coming here for a beer. Plenty of great drinks on offer at this iconic Melbourne pub!

Mobile Review Mar 11, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next

 

Displaying: 1 - 20 of 205  





Anonymous photo Anonymous

Login / Register

Recently Viewed
Tell a Friend

Lists

    No items

    No items


New List

Add


Newsletter

Get deals, specials & news!

Sign Up


expand

Browse Melbourne


expand

Cuisines



expand

Dining Atmospheres



expand

Dining Features



expand

Bookings Online



expand

View



expand

Dietary Standards



expand

Opening Hours



expand

Delivery, Pick Up & Catering



expand

Awards



expand

Internet Access



expand

Accessibility





Close