Fresh User Reviews in Melbourne


Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next

 

Displaying: 1 - 20 of 228  




MrSanjay reviewed Gochi, Southbank

Restaurants, Japanese, Sushi, Serves Dinner, Serves Late Dining

Overall 6  1


6 Average

Food  7      Ambience  5      Service  7      Value  5     


Very casual dining. The food was fine, but nothing to rave about. Service disconcertingly quick. A bit pricey for what you get. Seemed a bit more like a cafeteria than an izakaya, but maybe that's because I wasn't drinking.

Mar 04, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




MrSanjay reviewed Deck Restaurant, The, Southbank

Restaurants, European, Modern Australian, Swiss, Vegetarian

Overall 8.8  9


7.5 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  6      Service  7      Value  9     


We enjoyed a quick early dinner using the pre-theatre menu, which was great value. The food was quality bistro fare, and the wine offered with the 2/3-course set very tasty. The service was a bit distracted and mistimed (with a long wait between main and dessert), but overall I was happy with the experience.

Mar 04, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Cafes, Italian, BYO, Licensed, Serves Dinner

Overall 6.6  12


9.8 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  9      Service  10      Value  10     


We just had an absolutely lovely meal, with perfect service, and am surprised by the lashings previous reviewers have given. We had a chicken parma, and a chicken with garlic sauce, which were bith excellent, the garlic bread was superb, and the ambience great. We were so full we declined dessert. We visited mid week, and yes the sprukers at other establishments literally scared us away, with their insistant nature. No such problem at Villa Romano. Delightful.

Mar 04, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Alihawk reviewed Calatrava, Southbank

Cafes

Overall 5.8  1


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

5.8 Average

Coffee  8      Ambience  5      Service  5      Value  5     


This café is in the big open space at the front of Crown Casino, nearest Spencer Street. Its open Gelato Bar faces the pedestrian walkway outside. Inside, the serving area is opulent - gold and brightly coloured cabinets display lovely looking cakes, macaroons and desserts. I came here to have a business meeting and it's good for that as it's open from first thing in the morning - my meeting was at 7.30am. The seating is basic - wire chairs and Formica tables, but the environment is good for discussion and work. The coffee is good and service is quick.


Mar 04, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Alihawk reviewed Biryani House, Melbourne CBD

Restaurants, Indian, Family Dining, Good For Groups, Child Friendly

Overall 6.3  1


6.3 Average

Food  8      Ambience  4      Service  5      Value  8     


A true demonstration of the quality of an eatery is the number of customers it attracts. If that's anything to go by, this basic little restaurant is hard to beat. There's a constant stream of people coming in to get their food - and they are all well versed in Indian cuisine. In fact, when I dined here one of my companions said "it's the best Indian food I've had, since I left India 12 months ago - the Biryani is great!". That's an endorsement indeed. There are absolutely no frills here - the surroundings, décor and furniture are all basic - people come for the food, then come back and back.. and back. You can't book here though, so just come in - and eat!

Mar 03, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




JOEROZ reviewed Degani Bakery Cafe, Balwyn

Cafes, Bakeries, Serves Takeaway, Catering, Cake

Overall 5.6  1


5.6 Average

Food  5      Coffee  7      Ambience  3      Service  7      Value  6     


Good.

Mobile Review Mar 02, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Onara reviewed David's, Prahran

Restaurants, Chinese, Yum Cha, Fine Dining, BYO

Overall 7  23


7.5 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  8      Service  6      Value  8     


A cut above your average suburban Chinese. Food is splendid. Service can be lacking though.

Mar 02, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Cafes, Licensed, Serves Breakfast, Serves Lunch, Street Parking

Overall 6.2  1


6.2 Average

Food  6      Coffee  6      Ambience  8      Service  5      Value  6     


Underwhelming is what I felt here. I had breakfast mid-morning on a week day. Ordered "The Wilf" that came with Poached Eggs (overcooked), Bacon, Baked Beans (cold), Mushroom Croquettes and a few house made chips (these were nice). But it just didn't come together right. The service was also very slow (they weren't busy). Must have been 20 mins before someone came to take my order. Another minute longer and I would have walked out. It's a shame as its a really nice looking cafe.

Mar 02, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




4jonsey reviewed Acqua e Vino, Yarraville

Bars, Good For Groups, Private Room, Serves Dinner, Serves Late Dining

Overall 6.9  7


1 Not Recommended

Drinks  1      Ambience  1      Service  1     


One of the worst meals i have ever tried to eat. Ribs were so tough you couldn't eat them and the prawn curry was curry flavoured water. Definitely would not recommend.

Mobile Review Feb 21, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Indian, Serves Takeaway, Menulog Delivery and Pickup

Overall 7  3


9.8 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  9      Service  10      Value  10     


I have tried many different Indian restaurants. Apna Tandoori Restaurant is the best. They have the best Indian food in Sunbury. They also have very good service. I really like it. Thank you.

Feb 20, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Sundae reviewed La Spaghettata Restaurant, Carlton

Restaurants, Italian, Restaurant Bookings

Overall 5.3  11


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

2.3 Not Recommended

Food  2      Ambience  5      Service  1      Value  1     


There were seven of us ordering a variety of meals. For most of the night, La Spaghettata Restaurant was about 50% full. We had bruschetta al pomodoro for appetizer. The waiter did not know the Italian pronunciation and proceeded to correct me when I gave the correct pronunciation. It was served on a pizza base, which was nice and cheap. The topping was basically just cut up tomatoes. There were little to no onions, garlic, basil or anything else even though these were advertised on the menu. There were really long delays serving the main course and the desserts.

Without exaggeration, there was a 10-minute delay delivering the first and last main course and over 20 minutes with the desserts. So the first main meals served went cold. In 2015 in Melbourne that was pathetic. The pasta was undercooked--on Lygon Street! Give me a break. The prawns tasted old and were poorly cooked. The chicken parmigiana was dreadfully served--just sloped on the plate without thought of appearance and looked burned on the edges. The crepes were under cooked, tough and dreadful. The service was shocking. At one point, I was leaning on my menu as I talked with the person next to me. The waiter just pulled the menu away while I was talking. A truly awful experience.

Feb 20, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Alihawk reviewed Bluebag, Melbourne CBD

Cafes

Overall 6.5  1


6.5 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  5      Service  7      Value  6     


My favourite sandwich from Bluebag is the Green Salad. It's usually made on dark rye but there are choices with Kale Hummus, Feta, Avocado & Salad. It's a light but delicious lunch option. The range of sandwiches is quite good and there's salads, too. It's got a nice vibe to it. It has a very nice service, too. Thank you.


Mobile Review Feb 19, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Restaurants, Italian, Pizza, Family Dining, Good For Groups

Overall 6.8  22


6 Average

Food  8      Ambience  6      Service  3      Value  7     


Food is worth the visit but don't expect good service. The staff just didn't want to be here. Haven't had a pizza this good since Italy. Everyone eating here seemed to be happy so I was too. Prices are reasonable. Will come here again.

Mobile Review Feb 18, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Tiny Dancer reviewed 5 Lire, North Melbourne

Restaurants, Italian, Good for Brunch, Good For Groups, Serves Breakfast

Overall 6  1


6 Average

Food  4      Ambience  7      Service  7      Value  6     


I ordered the Smashed Peas on sourdough with Buffalo Mozzarella & (what can only be described as) Salami Paste. The taste was quite pleasant but I was expecting it to be warm. It was stone cold from the fridge which made it very unpalatable. I really struggled to eat it as cold mushy peas are not very appealing. It's a shame as it could have been great. Why they did not think to heat up all the elements is beyond me. At least the coffee was good.

Feb 18, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Aimee L. reviewed A Mano, Brighton

Restaurants, Pizza, Family Dining, Good For Groups, BYO

Overall 9.8  1


9.8 Highly Recommended

Food  10      Ambience  10      Service  10      Value  9     


Beautiful food and service! An excellent dining experience.

Mobile Review Feb 15, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




wysiwyg reviewed Babycino on Main, Point Cook

Cafes

Overall 6  1


6 Average

Food  8      Coffee  9      Ambience  1      Service  4      Value  8     


If you're looking for somewhere to relax over a coffee or light lunch forget this place. The place is so loud you can't hear yourself think. Not helped by the loud music they play or the fact that the staff (none of whom seemed capable of cracking a smile) shout at each other from one end of the place to the other. Could possibly excuse this if they were talking about an order or something remotely connected to their work but no you, the customer, get to hear all about their social life.

I tried going outside but couldn't stand the cigarette smokers so went back inside. Staff so busy discussing what should have been their own private business they couldn't even get a simple croissant order right. Sent it back; had to wait for a replacement - no apology. To add insult to injury coffee was lukewarm so, instead of being able to linger over it and relax, had to gulp it down before it went completely cold. I've been here once before, a year or so ago, and it was the same so clearly they don't much care whether they get repeat custom. Never again!

Feb 13, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Tiny Dancer reviewed Dumpling Wise, Taylors Lakes

Restaurants, Asian, Family Dining, Good For Groups, Child Friendly

Overall 7  1


7 Recommended

Food  8      Ambience  7      Service  6      Value  7     


Really good food. Went as a group for lunch and ordered all sorts of dishes. Everyone agreed the dumplings were a standout. The Sichuan Pepper Chicken said it came with peanuts but we couldn't find a single one. The only disappointing dish we had (although still tasty). Staff were friendly but flustered at how busy they were & forgot to bring certain items.

Feb 13, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Tiny Dancer reviewed T.G.I. Friday's, Epping

Restaurants, American

Overall 6.3  1


6.3 Average

Food  6      Ambience  6      Service  7      Value  6     


Not amazing but wasn't expecting it to be. I had the Buffalo Chicken Tacos that were quite nice & spicy but no where near enough blue cheese sauce. My friend had the Jack Daniels Burger. The glaze was delicious but apart from that he found it ordinary. Service was really good. Definitely suited to those with kids or a large family group.

Feb 11, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




WhisperingFis reviewed Glass Den, Coburg

Restaurants

Overall 9  1


9 Highly Recommended

Food  9      Ambience  9      Service  10      Value  8     


I had the butter milk and blueberry pancakes which were everything I hoped for - they melted into my mouth so smoothly - delicious! Great service as always!

Feb 10, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Onara reviewed Riverside Teppanyaki, Melbourne CBD

Restaurants, Japanese, Restaurant Bookings

Overall 2.8  2


2.8 Not Recommended

Food  2      Ambience  2      Service  6      Value  1     


Awful food. Much like I'd expect to get in a suburban food court, or a railway station.

Feb 08, 2015 

Was this review helpful?   |




Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next

 

Displaying: 1 - 20 of 228  





Anonymous photo Anonymous

Login / Register

Recently Viewed
Tell a Friend

Lists

    No items

    No items


New List

Add


Newsletter

Get deals, specials & news!

Sign Up


expand

Browse Melbourne


expand

Cuisines



expand

Dining Atmospheres



expand

Dining Features



expand

Bookings Online



expand

View



expand

Dietary Standards



expand

Opening Hours



expand

Delivery, Pick Up & Catering



expand

Awards



expand

Internet Access



expand

Accessibility





Close