Displaying: 1 - 18 of 18
Food 7 Ambience 6 Service 6 Value 5
The food is good but the prices and what you get make you want to go more west of Sydney so you get more value for your money, still not a bad option if your craving lebanese food.
Nov 21, 2013
1 Not Recommended
Food 1 Ambience 1 Service 1 Value 1
One of the worst experiences I have had at a restaurant, horrible service with arrogant staff and horrible food.
Nov 18, 2013
Food 8 Ambience 6 Service 8 Value 8
The food here is delicious and very generous in portion size and the wait staff were very friendly and efficient too. Drinks and food arrived in a timely order. The restaurant is small and cozy but can get quite noisy and its a shame the council does not allow the owners to make use of their great beer garden between Mon-Thurs. I highly recommend this restaurant as the cocktails are delicious, the food is authentic and the staff are great.
Oct 16, 2013
4.3 Below Average
Food 3 Ambience 7 Service 5 Value 2
Cockroach in Sangria! Paid $55 for tapas and unlimited sangria. The food is nothing special seems like it's been warmed up in the microwave. The sangria has been watered down so much you would need to be drinking a number of jugs per hour to just get tipsy.
One of our group was about to gulp down a full sized cockroach before he noticed it. We were given a new jug but realised that most likely everyone Los sangria came from the same bucket that cockroach was swimming in. One redeeming feature was the flamenco dancers. Definitely would not visit again.
Oct 04, 2013
Food 5 Ambience 8 Service 8 Value 5
We ate here on the weekend. The lamb dishes are excellent, we were particularly surprised by the serving size of the souvlaki lamb skewers. Unfortunately we felt really let down by dessert. There was a variety of desserts but we opted for the Creme Brûlée.
Most definitely not Creme Brûlée as we know it. It was Fosters ready made custard with a caramel disc placed on top. What an insult to the diners being served such a cheap imitation, second rate dessert and at $9.50 a serve they should be ashamed of themselves, hence my score of 5 for food and value.
Sep 30, 2013
Food 8 Ambience 7 Service 9 Value 8 Drinks 8
Certainly a mixed European cuisine - certainly all the combinations of meats, sauces and vegetables makes it an ideal winter cuisine. Good wine list. Will go back.
Sep 16, 2013
Food 5 Ambience 5 Service 6 Value 6
My Fiance and I dined here on a Sunday night. The ambience was nice, relaxing lighting but very uncomfortable chairs.
The Sangria was pleasant but not spectacular. Our tapas were quite nice, tender meat, good quality chorizo and the squid was very moist, I also appreciated the portion sizes although the variety needs improvement. All our meals were pleasant with the exception of the pork. I had asked the waiter if the pork belly included crackling and he replied yes. When the meal arrived, there was absolutely no crackling whatsoever and it mostly consisted of fat with hardly any meat.
The food was prompt and service pleasant. The dessert was very disappointing. We ordered orange creme Brulee but the consistency was that of scrambled eggs mixed with orange juice.. not nice at all and we left most of this behind as it tasted curdled.. awful! "scrambrulee". Overall the food was nice but do not order dessert here.
Sep 09, 2013
1 Not Recommended
Food 1 Coffee 1 Ambience 1 Service 1 Value 1
What is the point of having big, comfy-looking chairs if you do not allow your customers to sit in them?
I went into your cafe today, having spied them from the entrance. However, when I asked to sit there, and the waitress was leading me to them, one of your other staff, told me that as I was alone I was not allowed to sit there. When I questioned this, he said that he was under instructions from you.
Given at the time there were only 8 other customers (which means maybe you still had a 90% vacancy), I fail to see what difference it would make to you where I sat. Since your policy suggested to me that you did not appear to want my business, I took it to another establishment where the staff are pleasant and charming (as opposed to the belligerence and surliness of yours).
In the current economic climate, and the highly competitive nature of your location (one of 8 eating establishments in your block of Glebe Point Road alone), I am surprised you encourage your staff to turn customers away.
What your staff failed to notice, perhaps, was that I was in business attire. This means that I work in the area. Do you think I didn't go back to work and tell my colleagues about my shabby treatment? It is highly likely, therefore, that you may have lost more than one potential customer today.
I certainly hope so - you don't deserve them.
Aug 27, 2013
Food 6 Ambience 7 Service 6 Value 4
The interior makes you feel like you're under an Arabian tent, we liked it!Read the full review on my blog
Aug 24, 2013
Food 8 Ambience 8 Service 8 Value 8 Drinks 8
Visited La Boheme for the first time on Saturday night with three friends. We all enjoyed our meals and the service was good. Two of us shared a sausage platter, which came with various condiments, potato gratin and a selection of salads/slaws. We also shared a desert platter, and both were excellent. Will definitely return!
Aug 19, 2013
2 Not Recommended
Food 5 Ambience 1 Service 1 Value 1
I've been here to Almustafa twice. Food was good, but the service just ruined the whole experience twice. Waiters have no clue whats going on. You order a Kings feast for 5 they take about 2 hours to bring out the order and even then its missing. Four plates went to the table next to us. Had to request four times for a jug of coke from the same waiter. The only thing they say is, "we're really busy". This place won't last too much longer if they don't get a proper team and proper kitchen. Overall, the worst experience I have had by far. For $299, it left the whole group feeling down. I would not recommend.
Jul 29, 2013
Food 8 Coffee 7 Ambience 8 Service 8 Value 7
We are big fans of digikaf, even when we moved out of the area we still head back there from time to time. They are really consistent with their meals, always tasty, lots to choose from. The coffee is good. The prices are reasonable. Husband has ordered the quesedilla breakfast every bloody time and loves it. I have wandered around the menu trying most things and have settled on either the french toast or the benedict with asparagus. Good vibe, staff are always friendly and are happy to now accommodate our newly arrived baby too which means we will keep coming back.
Jul 12, 2013
9 Highly Recommended
Food 8 Ambience 10 Service 9 Value 9
This is one of our favourites for special occasions and a recent lunch for 12 was just superb. Staff, food and ambience were perfect. It's an oyster lovers paradise however our vegetarian friend was very happy with her options too. I find it hard to go past the snapper pie. Sharing it with a friend helped me manage 3 courses! Agree with others that it's a must visit in Sydney.
Jul 09, 2013
Food 8 Drinks 6 Ambience 8 Service 1 Value 4
I love the food here and it seems to have improved tenfold however it is unfortunate that the food service appears to have declined drastically in the last month or so. The last few times I have been here I have received the wrong meal, received no steak knife for my steak and have asked (and paid for) some aioli only to never receive it. The drinks are good and prices are reasonable but I will probably pass on this place in the future and go to one of the many other pubs in the area.
Jul 02, 2013
1 Not Recommended
Food 1 Ambience 1 Service 1 Value 1
We had a large group of 16 people on last Saturday night. 7 people elected to order off the menu the rest chose the banquet. The food was poor and compared to the New Tapas restaurant on Glebe Point Rd is a long way short. Further, even though we elected to provide this business with a large booking they repaid the appreciation by over charging $200. Despite showing receipts for the people who elected to order off the menu - this was not accepted.
We thought common sense would prevail so we went back on Sunday to highlight the error with the expectation that the "customer comes first" would prevail. Sadly our case was again rejected. I have lived in Glebe for 13 years and have not experienced such blatant dishonest practices. I have since asked a number of long term Glebe residents and they were not surprised as they also had bad experiences. We mentioned to the proprietor that we would not return and he replied "that is fine". So with your assistance please avoid this business and take your business to another establishment.
Jul 01, 2013
Food 8 Ambience 9 Service 8 Value 7 Drinks 9
Our table of 10 enjoyed a wide variety of food including schnitzel, ribs, pork knuckle and fish. Meals were a great size, excellent value and every plate was cleaned up! The atmosphere and warmth of the cottage and staff ensured a great night. I think we found our new local.
P.S. the budvar beers were delicious
Jun 28, 2013
2.4 Not Recommended
Food 2 Ambience 1 Service 4 Value 1 Drinks 4
From the other reviews I am wondering if we're talking about the same La Boheme in Glebe. I read that the restaurant has moved (not sure how recently) from Balmain, so perhaps some of the other reviews refer to that place?
We chose this place on a cold winter's night, assuming that these European 'meat' restaurants are usually pretty cosy. Not so - it's a large cavernous space with quite an industrial feel, no heating as far as I could see or feel, so all in all we remained pretty cold.
The menu is an odd mix, including some French, German, Czech, etc. Items are quite strangely accompanied, for example one type of schnitzel has mash while another has chips, and a third has potatoes. Seems like it'd be more logical to just give the customer the option of what they want on the side?
Nothing we got was particularly convincing, or particularly good for that matter. I got a chicken schnitzel (which came with mash, for those keeping score) and it was pretty much below the quality of what you might get at the local pub, and at about 3 times the price. My wife got the duck, which was overcooked and accompanied by these strange dry things which they were calling 'dumplings'.
The service was very slow, the two waitresses basically greeting us and then immediately forgetting we were there. When we finally ordered, the food came out reasonably fast.
All in all, a pretty disappointing experience, not recommended.
Response from Management:
We are really sorry to hear that the customers did not enjoy dining with us as we work very hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their visit with european experiance.
The La Boheme Restaurant has changed the location about a month ago from Balmain to Glebe. Our new venue was chosen because of its European feel that is so hard to find in Sydney and most of our guests seem to agree.
The menu consists of dishes traditional to European countries the way they are served in there, hence the reason for different side dishes. Some of them may even be bit strange as they do not fall into regular category - accompanied by these strange dry things which they were calling 'dumplings' - what was expected small dumplings Traditionaly served and known from different type of cuisines?
If the Roasted Duck was so overcooked and dry and the house made chicken schnitzel dish served with in house made mash potato, fresh mushroom sauce & salad as indicated in the menu not worth the asking price why the complain was not made on the spot?
If the diners were cold we surely could do something about that too - turn the heating up a bit more or offer another table perhaps.
According to the score drinks were rated 4 - why would that be? Was the beer too cold or too warm, was something wrong with the wine or something else was not up to scratch?
And service - too slow? It is hard to tell now as well, as we never received a complain about any of the above during the night the customers were dining with us.
We are quite sure that we would try our best to improve the dining experience for this very unhappy couple on their first visit. What we found quite strange is why did they decide to dine with us in the first place if they did not like the venue and the menu to start with.
Dear customers the only way we can improve your dining experience with us is if you speak to the staff on the night about what you like and what you did not like.
To leave and then send a complain is not going to improve much for you or anyone else.
We value your opinion and feedback. That is what will help us to see many happy returning customers in the many years to come.
Jun 20, 2013
9 Highly Recommended
Food 10 Ambience 10 Service 9 Value 7
What a treat! The lights of the city and Anzac bridge moving over the stillness of Black Wattle Bay is enough to make the night, and the food is simply stunning. You have to try the signature snapper pie - delicate pastry with rich sauce and generous amount of fish.
Jun 15, 2013
Displaying: 1 - 18 of 18